Letters to the Editors

Another Letter to the Editor of Poets & Writers Magazine got published! First one on the page. Will paste link here. https://www.pw.org/content/reactions_2

This is the second time the magazine has used one of my letters to them and I am flattered.

Poets & Writers Magazine is the only writer’s magazine I subscribe to. I have subscribed to Writer’s Digest in the past, but I felt like I outgrew that one. It has wonderful articles in it for the beginning writer, but I’m past that point in my writing life.

It’s the same way with writing courses. I’ve taken so many of those since 1985 that I’m just not taking anymore.

I would love to go to a Writer’s Conference. When I had a full-time job, I didn’t feel like I could take the time off work to go to one, although now I think I just should have. I had the money to go when I was working. Now that I don’t have a “day job”,  I can’t afford to go. Well, maybe some day.

I just got so excited yesterday when I saw my letter to the editor in print in Poets & Writer’s Magazine. Their circulation is around 100,000. I wonder if anyone who knows me saw it? Probably not.

I was often published in The News and Observer in Raleigh NC, and friends and relatives would say something to me about it.

It’s a good feeling when you see something you created put where others can see it.

There’s more than one way to break into print. Letters to the editor is one of them.

I also sent letters to a columnist for the News and Observer. I didn’t realize when I started doing it that he published letters from readers on Fridays. That’s where many of my friends and relatives saw my early work.  His name was Dennis Rogers and his column was awesome.

You might not always get paid for things you write that make it into print, but you will always feel good about it.

Leave a comment