Poetry

I listened to some children read their writing creations today. One shy girl tried to hand me her poem to read aloud for her. “Oh, no, child”, I told her. “Don’t you know a poem is read better by the poet than by anyone else who reads it aloud?”

Shyly she took the poem back and in a hesitating voice, I heard her description of the army, military and how she views wars. It would never have sounded so well in my own voice. She put the meaning in the words as she read them.

Leave a Reply

