Ode to Blackie

Ode to Blackie

I came in wearing my Dr. Seuss hat,

You barked and said “I don’t like that!”

I sat down and put you in my lap,

You silly, silly dog.

*****

That put the hat right next to you,

You bit your tongue and out it flew

You did not know just what to do,

My attention you did hog.

*****

I put the hat down on the floor,

You jumped down and ran straight to the door,

You’ve never wanted to run before,

But you began to jog,

*****

I grabbed the leash right from it’s hook,

Said the hat was just something from a book,

You gave it still one long last look,

And hopped out just like a frog.

*****

So out the door that March we went,

I said “hide the hat” somewhere different,

I think you did not like its scent,

It made you act agog.

*****

It’s put up now, I know not where,

It’s something I no longer wear,

It was something you just could not bear,

You silly, silly dog.

*****

by Constance Barr Corbett

February 1, 2014

Not my best work. Written after the blog just now was posted. Blackie likes it.

Image

Leave a Reply

