Marketing

I just read a post on Affiliated Authors about marketing self-published books.

I think I know so much about writing since I’ve taken several writing courses, but it seems there is always more to learn that I didn’t even know I didn’t know.

This self-publishing idea for my pet poetry book makes me feel as if I’m standing on the end of the pier and the only way to get in the water is to jump.

Let’s hope I’m a good swimmer.

I write for me, because I cannot not write. I have always written. I’ve had some publishing success as a school columnist, with some of my other writings being published in Dennis Rogers’ column in the News and Observer, with some magazines and newspapers using what I’ve written. I won third place (out of 200 writers) in a contest done by Readers Digest for an article I wrote titled “Helping Hands Are Learning Hands”. I won honorable mention in an international short story contest for my story, “Beware of a Good-Natured Wife”.

I write every day. It’s what I do. I do not sell every day and I have a “day job”.

However, I would love for my day job to be writing.

Back to the pier metaphor: I will continue to try to find out the temperature of the water and what to do once I’ve jumped in, but as one who has hovered on the end of the pier too long, I’m going to take the plunge and hope for the best.

It looks like one of the most pressing things to do is to refine my author’s website.

I have an article coming out this August in an educational magazine about how to teach writing. The same magazine used my article about the classroom read aloud previously. One idea, if I keep writing educational articles (guess what my “day job” is!), I would like to see these articles assembled in a book.

So much to do and so little time. Gonna Just Jump!

Leave a Reply

