Why Do You Write?

I write because if I don’t, my head will get so filled with characters and scenes, descriptions and opinions that there will be no room for anything else. I write so I can think.

In studying the art (craft?) of writing, I am often surprised by the elemental information that is out there for writers to read.

Do they not already know these things? If not, why not?

If writing is this mysterious to them, why do they seek to be writers?

Do some crave the money? the attention? perhaps the fame? Do others view it as “easy work” (to them I say to think back on the last research paper they wrote . . . was THAT easy?) Do they have a story to tell?

I write because I cannot not write. I wonder why other writers write?

Leave a Reply

