Short Stories

Is it progress if short stories I’ve thought about for years get a quick synopsis and an open page on my computer for continued development?

I started one yesterday about dance.

Today I started one about a hit man.

At some point in time I need to finish these ideas/stories. However when I start to work on a story and another plot/idea pops into my head, I’ve learned from experience that if I don’t jot down the idea, I forget it. Sometimes it will reappear much later; sometimes it is gone forever.

Maybe I can work on the two stories at the same time, ie: develop characters, decide on scenes/environments; minor characters, if any. Flashbacks? Dialogue. So much to do . . . so little time.

Both stories are completely written in my head now. I just have to get them down on paper in chronological order with details and dialogue and quick action and editing. Until then, guess what? They will rattle around in my head. I do not write only because I love to write; I also write because I have to write. If all these scenes and characters and stories are allowed to accumulate in my head, I will surely lose my mind.

Leave a Reply

