What Life Throws At You

I just got out of the hospital yesterday after a six day stay. I had no idea that I was that sick until painful symptoms forced me to go to the ER on a Sunday night.

While I was in the hospital, one of my biggest annoyances was failure to work on my James Patterson’s Writing Course that I’d waited months to be able to afford and had just begun to take. I have no laptop, but perhaps it’s time to get one?

I want to chronicle the illness and the hospital stay while it is fresh in my mind. Suffice it to say that on Sunday night, February 28, I had terrible stomach/chest pains that would not end. I finally gave in and a little after midnight I drove myself to the ER. They determined that it was a gallbladder episode and asked if this had ever happened before? Yes, it had. It had been going on for at least three months, but always before the pain would subside and I’d let it go. I don’t like seeing doctors. I’ve been hurt as often, or more often, by them than helped. Many don’t listen and some seem to know less about my conditions than I know. I stay away from doctors as much as I can. I could not avoid them that night. However, although the doctor recommended immediate surgery, she said I was ok to come home and think about it. I left the hospital at 4:00 am with a prescription for pain meds and one for nausea meds. I thought I’d be fine. I was wrong.

Leave a Reply

