Week Five, Day Two

Tuesday. There was no writing yesterday, Monday, Day One of Week Five. I was at the beach with my two oldest children. I had a wonderful time. I hadn’t been to the beach in five years and I was past due. It was a beautiful day. We found a new restaurant with excellent seafood. The sun was shining and the breeze was nice as I sat on a towel on the sand.

********************************************************************

Today I talked with my middle child/son and he expressed again his desire to write a blog. I hope he starts one here on WordPress. I encouraged him to do so.

********************************************************************

Hi/Lo books are on my mind. I discussed them with my son today and got a few extra ideas.

**********************************************************************

“No Child Left Behind” means no child goes forward. The Academically Gifted programs are few and far between now. While we pay for 8 adults to be in a “special ed” class containing 8 children, we let our academically gifted children languish in classes with the children who cannot be left behind. We basically tell our best and brightest to “stand still while others catch up”.

***********************************************************************

Angry with my doctor and her nurse today. I wrote about it in my blog “Proud of Every Wrinkle”, so I won’t go into detail here. I do wonder why young folks think they know more than their elders and why they talk over us in such a rude way.

***********************************************************************

My cat, Hunter, is meowing. I cannot write if she’s going to do that. Let me go see what she wants.

***********************************************************************

Hunter wanted fresh food.

***********************************************************************

Re-watched Lesson One of James Patterson’s Online Writing Course. Since the course was interrupted for me by first a one week hospital stay and then – less than a week later, a Pitbull attack, followed by several weeks of not being able to type with my left hand because of the Pitbull damage, I feel my disjointed view of Patterson’s course was not as good as it could be, so I’m watching the videos again. He has a lot of knowledge in his course and I feel I probably missed some of it.

*********************************************************************

Ordered a copy of 2 AM Magazine that had printed my copy of Slumberlost (poem) in 1988. My personal copy was damaged and I’m excited about finding this one.

***********************************************************************

I found a hardback copy of a book that is selling on Amazon for $25 . . . cheapest copy listed. I listed mine for $22. I found the book at the Dollar Tree. Sometimes I get lucky when I’m in the Dollar Tree and buy a book that is selling for more than $1 online. I buy books that appeal to me or that I think will appeal to one of my sons. If it’s not selling for more than $1 online, I either read it or give it to one of my sons or to a friend. It’s a gamble, but once in awhile, it pays off.

***********************************************************************

 

 

Leave a Reply

