Week Six? , Day One

My short story, “The Slip” . . . is 1417 words long. I just went to the website for Suspense Magazine, which looked like it might be willing to publish my story. They require stories between 1500 and 5000 words. Should I make my story a little longer? Then I read that they might publish it online and I’d get no payment. Ok. It stays as is, 1417 words in length and I will look for another publisher. It may never see a printed page, but it will not be published without some sort of compensation. I spent time writing it. I don’t give my work away. For those who might be interested in this magazine, here is the website:

http://www.suspensemagazine.com/Submission_Review_Policy.html

***********************************************************************

 

I saw another possible poetry market. It pays $20 per poem. I might submit one of my poems to it. I need to see what kind it accepts. All my poems rhyme and they tell a little story.

***********************************************************************

Found this info online:

According to a study conducted in late April by the U.S. Department of Education and the National Institute of Literacy, 32 million adults in the U.S. can’t read. That’s 14 percent of the population. 21 percent of adults in the U.S. read below a 5th grade level, and 19 percent of high school graduates can’t read.Sep 6, 2013
So what do they call classes where adults learn to read? All I’m finding are classes for GED’s etc.

HiLo: Adults – reading 4th to 6th grade levels

by Staff Member LibraryRachel

Description: Books for Adult interest level and reading level at grades 4-6. Books have lexile levels between 700 and 1000.
Especially intended for use with ESL and Adult reading students. Audiobooks are paired with titles when possible.

This list is publicly viewable
Last updated: February 7, 2014, 11:43 am

http://www.aadl.org/user/lists/34527

Starting to think this is an impossible endeavor. I just don’t know the buzz words, OR the classes I seek to write for don’t exist.

***********************************************************************

 

Leave a Reply

