Video Was Published Today

Why am I so shy about publishing the link to it here? It’s on Youtube. It’s not exactly what I wanted, but it’s my first one, so I’m trying to excuse the errors.

The picture I use here was taken just eleven years ago. Men were still “hitting on me” then, and I was too busy to notice them.

Now I have aged (and not all that well) and boy, I look different. Should I change my photo on here to a more current one? Even then, the last year and a half of disability has changed my appearance from even the most recent photos.

In late April 2015, I had to quit my job . . . or go out on medical leave. I had hoped to go back this year, but was not able. I’m a school teacher and loved working with the struggling readers. All that most of them needed was for me to figure out the missing puzzle piece. They had missed one or more reading concepts and as soon as I figured out what each one had missed, I was able to teach that to them and then they’d work their way up to the reading level the rest of the class was on; I’d dismiss them from my classes, and replace them with another struggling reader.

I’ve missed them. I’ve missed the challenge.

When my youngest son was in 8th grade, for various reasons, I decided to homeschool him. It was not easy because I was still working 8 hours a day (or more) and had to prepare lessons for him. I couldn’t find a good curriculum, so I tried to design my own. He had some good lessons that year. Once we went on a “field trip” to hear the author of Ender’s Game speak. That author’s name is Orson Scott Card.  I’ll never forget that evening. But still, I struggled, even as a trained school teacher, to teach him the concepts the 8th grade required.

After that year, I looked at writing for Homeschooling Magazines, but was surprised to read that they didn’t want anyone to tell them HOW to teach. They wanted articles about what it was like to be a homeschooling parent.

Somewhere along the way, I did read that the hardest thing a homeschool parent taught was Reading. I wanted to tell them that there are teachers out there who also lack knowledge in how to teach reading. I’ve studied general teaching at ECU. I earned a certification in Reading Recovery from NC Central in Durham. I got a Masters Degree in Language and Literacy Education from UNCW. My biggest problem is ignoring the teacher’s manual and using what I’ve learned over the years.

I decided to make a series of videos to show parents, or anyone else who wanted to know, how I teach reading. I pull a little from this and a little from that and use different skills and techniques I’ve learned through the years.

So my disabled self sat down a couple weeks ago and made my first video on how to teach reading. The first one is about letters and sounds, which is the basis for most of the other techniques.

I was not happy with how tired and old I looked. I was not able to superimpose the websites I wanted to send viewers to, if they wanted to buy or print out the materials I was using. the top of my head was cut off in part of the video. My son helped me edit it so that the um’s and pauses were cut out. As bad as it looks to me now, it looked worse.

Tomorrow I am going to take the giant leap and post it on this blog. I’ve already sent it to five friends and asked for criticism. All I got was false praise and “it looks good”. Well, maybe someone on here will be more honest. But before you tell me I’m no longer easy on the eyes, let me tell you, I already know that.

Leave a Reply

