Thinking About ECU? Think Again

If you are thinking about sending your child or your dollars to ECU in Greenville, NC, you might want to think again.

Maybe you are rich and won’t have to borrow any money for your education. If you are like many of ECU’s students, you will need financial aid. Not only have I found it impossible to work with the staff at the Financial Aid Office at ECU, where they receive forms and then ask for them at least 3 more times, where they will not let you talk to someone else when you have problems with one of the staff members in the Financial Aid Office and where even the Chancellor ignores your pleas for help, but once they’re gotten your borrowed dollars for their coffer, they no longer seem to care about you or your student.

And how many dollars per year do they expect to get from you? From the chart below, it appears to be $21,295  ($31,722 out of state student). This chart omits the cost for health insurance, which is required, and which my son was charged $600 for when he attended.

22. What is ECU’s estimated cost of attendance?  ECU’s estimated cost of attendance will vary based on your enrollment; if you are an in state or out of state resident; and if you are a living on campus, commuting, or a distance education student.

2016-2017 Undergraduate Estimated Cost of Attendance

Cost of Attendance Resident on Campus NonResident on Campus Resident Commuter Resident Distance Education NonResident Distance Education
Tuition & Fees $6,946 $22,904 $6,946 $3,924 $16,862
Room & Board $9,426 $9,426 $6,126 $9,935 $9,935
Books & Supplies $1,280 $1,280 $1,280 $1,280 $1,280
Personal $2,276 $2,276 $2,276 $2,276 $2,276
Transportation $1,288 $1,288 $1,288 $1,288 $1,288
Loan Fee $80 $80 $80 $80 $80
Health Insurance $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Total $21,296 $37,254 $17,996 $18,783 $31,721

That’s for one year. I’d ask you to multiply that by 4, but ECU has a graduation rate of 35%.

Almost a fifth of their classes have students numbering 50 or more per class. Here’s the link where I found those facts.

http://colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges/east-carolina-university-2923

Is ECU a safe environment for your student? My own son attended ECU and told me he never felt safe while there. I just looked up some statistics on their crime rate and maybe he wasn’t exagerating. Here is what I found:

Arrests — On-Campus
Arrests — On-Campus 1 2012 2013 2014
Illegal weapons possession
6
7
7
Drug law violations
109
89
115
Liquor law violations
165
225
186

He said he frequently saw alerts to students about safety issues on campus, robberies, etc. and it got bad enough that he quit.

http://colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges/east-carolina-university-2923/campus-safety

It’s bad enough that they charge you over $20,000 for one year’s attendance – that’s in state students and over $30,000 for out of state students, but with only 35% graduation rate . . . do you even want to invest at all?

I admit I am writing this because I am upset with the Financial Aid Office who deferred my unemployed son’s loans for a year – from December 2015 to December 2016. Then one of their Financial Aid Loan Employees somehow decided last June (2016), that although my son had six more months of deferment approved, he needed to redo two forms. He redid these forms three times and sent them to her. I know he sent them because I mailed them myself. After the third request for the same forms, I asked (yes, even the Chancellor, who ignored me) that someone else be assigned to my son’s accout.

What I got for all my complaints and concerns was that same employee sending me yet another email yesterday demanding the same forms that have been submitted three times – even though the deferment should still be enforce, again. And to make sure I knew no one else had been assigned to my son’s account, she signed her name as large and as bold as she could. Here, let me copy/paste her signature directly from the email she sent me:

Melva Bonner

Director of Student Loan Collections

Office of Student Loans

East Carolina University – G103 Old Cafeteria Complex – Greenville, NC 27858

When You’ve asked for someone else to handle the account for over a year and she sends her name in bold print and extra large font, while telling you “I just wanted to follow up with you to see if you received the email below and if you and Anthony have had a chance to return the forms needed to move forward with processing the account.” . . . and you’ve sent those same forms to this same person three times, it’s like a slap in the face.

Thinking about ECU? Think again. 

Leave a Reply

