The Wealthy Writer Book

Today I found a book I’d bought called The Wealthy Writer. It says it will teach me how to earn a six-figure income as a freelance writer (no kidding!).

Part of my writing life, I’ve decided, includes research and knowledge. There may be something in this book that will help me profit. Most books on writing and magazines on writing have helped.

I didn’t have time to read this book when I bought it. Back then I was trying daily to teach 35 struggling readers to be competent readers. I thought about each student and planned as individually as I could for each one as I taught them in groups of 4 to 6.

My Reading Supervisor said my groups were too large, and I knew that. She said to lower them to 3 to 4 children. There were too many needy kids at my school, and I knew how to reach most of them. I could not lower my numbers. Whom to drop? My principal said not to drop any of them, and she was my main boss.

So I poured my heart and soul into creating readers who could not only read well, but could also comprehend what they’d read. I worked on their writing skills as well. It was a very full-time job that I brought home with me.

My writing? I did write from time to time and I did publish an article or poem once in awhile. I started four books and would dabble on first one and then the other, and then go back to the first. My heart and soul were elsewhere.

Now they are here, and I’m learning day by day how to be a full time writer.

Back to this book I’ve found tucked away with some other things I pushed aside for “later”. Later is now. I’ll let you know what I learn from it, or maybe I’ll just share successes and let you know where I learned to do that.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

