Stories of a Public School Teacher

I uploaded my manuscript a few days ago to the kdp self-publishing site on Amazon.com. I ordered a proof copy, and it came in the mail yesterday. Today I read through the first chapter and it looks fine.
The back of the book is missing the blurb I’d written to go on it. Not sure if I can change that, but I’ll try. I saw a dot at the beginning of one of the chapters and hope I can delete it. I’m going to read through the whole book one more time. I hope I haven’t released it for publication yet, but not sure.
I hadn’t until the other day when I tried to set up a Kindle Version of the book and when it asked if I wanted to release the book, I checked yes. Now I wonder if I released the paperback copy, the kindle edition or both?
“I’m building this plane as I fly it,” as one of my principals used to say. She was my favorite principal of all times. I miss working for her.
I changed the spelling of Schoolteacher, because I wanted the emphasis to be on Public School. Not sure if others will agree or understand, but it’s what I wanted. I do wish I had a team of professionals to help me with publishing a book, but I’m too old now to seek them out.
I actually changed the title of the book when I published it. It’s called More Than I Bargained For , and the subtitle is Memories of a Public School Teacher. That’s what the book has always been – a sort of memoir. I had no idea when I was training to be a schoolteacher of all the things I’d encounter when I taught. Some were sad, some were upsetting , some were good. There was also the frustrating and the surprising.
The book is set up so that each memory has its own chapter. If something doesn’t interest a reader, maybe the next chapter will?
I hope to link the Kindle Edition to the Paperback. Folks with Amazon Kindles can read the book for free. I think the price of the paperback was $9.95? I was going to price it lower, but with 160 pages, Amazon would only let me go so low with pricing. I’d pay $9.95 for it, but I know how much work and time went into producing it and I think it has quality memories.
I wrote so that people are not recognizable. I read if something had been in the newspaper, it was all right if characters were recognizable, but I tried to make them all anonymous.
I taught at several different public schools during my career. I saw a lot that surprised me. I did my best as an educator to teach all students. I also did my best to write these memories in readable fashion. I hope the readers enjoy the stories that are my memories of being a Public School Teacher.

4 thoughts on “Stories of a Public School Teacher

  1. Once, diverting here, I had the class create airplanes (I had taught a couple of designs, but encouraged them to create their own.). We took them out, flew them, some competition, then came back in after everyone had some fun. Then, I began a discussion about how wind passes over wings, the different air behavior close to the ground, and how shape affects. Real learning is this way. That’s not what public schools are doing.

    • You are absolutely right. Public schools are not teaching that way. Now unless teachers who teach the same subject agree to do the same activity, you would not be allowed to do it. It sounds like an awesome lesson you taught. I know the students enjoyed it and learned a lot.

  2. I am just seeing this. I had Covid in 2021 and was still very sick last June. The policy of the third sentence has never made any sense to me. Some teachers want to do more than others, and some teach in different ways, just as students learn in different ways. Why deprive some students of a wonderful learning activity just because everyone didn’t want to do it?

Leave a comment