On Being Published

Getting started in your writing career, or just frustrated at not getting published? Did you know you can write a letter to the editor of a newspaper or magazine and if they print it, that’s considered “Published” there?

When I was first getting published, or trying to, I sent letters to a columnist named Dennis Rogers. He was employed by The News and Observer, Raleigh NC. He sometimes used my writings in his column.

I started writing in blank page books for each of my children when I was pregnant with them. I wrote until the book was full. The following was from Nov 12, 1982 when my oldest was not quite a year old.

“November 12, 1982

Dear George A.,

Last night I lost my beloved, loyal dog, Atlas. No, he didn’t die. He was stolen away. Stolen away by your always ready smile, your willingness to play, your laughter and youthful unpredictability. Once before this week Atlas tried to hide in your room at bedtime. I caught a glimpse of him just as I was closing your door and ordered him out. He slept in my room that night. Last night I awaken to the sound of whimpering and the futile scratch of paws against wood. I raised up in bed and saw Atlas at your bedroom door; he was begrudgingly lying down outside. I got up and walked the few steps to your bedroom door and let him in. He curled up under your crib. I can think of no one I’d rather have him than you.

Love, Mom”

I sent it to Dennis Rogers, who was a columnist for The News and Observer, Raleigh NC. He used some of my writings in his Friday columns. He used that for part of his column a couple weeks after I sent it. He always gave me credit for writing it and I think that was the one I received the most mail and clipped columns from my friends. They loved it.

You can also volunteer to write a column for your childrens’ school newspaper. I wrote for Tadpole Tidbits, which was the newsletter for Effie Green Elementary School in Raleigh NC, where my children attended. The school mascot was a frog.

Publish where and when you can. You won’t make a lot of money at first, but you’ll be building a portfolio of work.

Leave a comment